Update on Negotiations

On 28th September 2018 the ACP Group of States and the EU began negotiations for a successor Agreement to the Cotonou Agreement which comes to an end in February 2020. This section contains all you need to know about the negotiations.



Namibia assumes chairmanship of the ACP Committee of Ambassadors

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Brussels 11 February 2019/ACP: The Ambassador of the Republic of Namibia, H.E. Dr. Kaire M. Mbuende will preside over the Committee of African, Caribbean and Pacific ambassadors in Brussels for the period 1st February – 31 July 2019.

His chairmanship comes at a decisive time when negotiations for a new partnership with the European Union are well advanced and are expected to be concluded during the summer of 2019.

In a hand-over ceremony on the 1st of February 2019, Ambassador Mbuende thanked the outgoing Chair, Ambassador Ammo Aziza Baroud of Chad for her leadership during the previous six months. He noted the successful launch of the negotiation meeting at the level of ACP Ambassadors and Senior Officials of the European Union which took place on 18 October 2018 in Brussels. 

Ambassador Mbuende also welcomed the new members of the Bureau of the Committee of Ambassadors, which held its first meeting on 1st February 2019 at the ACP Secretariat’s headquarters.

The Bureau of the Committee of Ambassadors, which coordinates the work of the full committee, is made up of one representative for each of the six ACP regions, as well as a Troika comprised of the current, incoming and outgoing Chairs. 

For the current term, the Bureau include: The Ambassador of Mauritius, H.E Mr. Haymandoyal Dillum (East Africa), Ambassador of Gambia H.E Mrs. Teneng Mba Jaiteh (West Africa), Ambassador of the Republic of Congo H.E Mr. Léon Raphaël Mokoko (Central Africa), Ambassador of Botswana H.E. Mr. Samuel Otsile Outlule (Southern Africa), Ambassador of Surinam H.E. Ms Sieglien Burleson (Caribbean) and the Ambassador of Tuvalu H.E. Mr. Aunese Makol Simati (Pacific).

The Troika includes the Ambassadors of Chad and Namibia, as well as the Ambassador of Papua New Guinea H.E Mr. Joshua Kalinoe from the Pacific region, which will be next to hold the presidency.

The Committee of Ambassadors is an important decision-making body of the ACP Group of States, comprising of one representative from each of its 79 member countries. It meets at least one a month in Brussels to monitor the implementation of the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, and carry out any mandate tasked to it by the ACP Council of Ministers. Much of its work is carried out through six technical sub-committees (on Political, Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Affairs; Trade and Commodities; Investment and the Private Sector; Sustainable Development; Financing and Development; and Establishment and Finance), as well through ad-hoc working groups and task forces.


Ambassador of Chad Her Excellency Mrs. Ammo Aziza Baroud (Left) and His Excellency Dr. Kaire M. Mbuende (right)













Avenue Georges Henri 451
B - 1200 Bruxelles - Brussels
Belgique - Belgium
email : info@acp.int
Tel: +32 2 743 06 00
Fax: +32 2 735 55 73
see map/voir plan

ACP Events
« August 2019 »
ACP Public Documents

The ACP Group is a registered trademark. The ACP logo and material on this site are protected by copyright laws and international treaty provisions. Unauthorised use of the ACP logo or copyright material without written permission is punishable by law.