The Secretary General

On 28th September 2018 the ACP Group of States and the EU began negotiations for a successor Agreement to the Cotonou Agreement which comes to an end in February 2020. This section contains all you need to know about the negotiations.




Grants awarded under the EuropeAid call for proposals EuropeAid/164206/IH/ACT/Multi publié le 17.04.2019

Supporting the cultural and creative sectors in the ACP countries – Q&A #2 – 12/01/2020

Calls for Proposals and Tenders - ACP EU Culture Supporting the Cultural and Creative Sectors in ACP Countries

Seeking partnership under ACP Innovation Fund?

Intra-ACP Programmes

ACP in Action: Interactive Map of Intra-ACP Projects in the Member States
Action Against Desertification
African Peace Facility
Aviation Africa
Biodiversity and Protected Areas Management (BIOPAMA)
ACP Business Climate
Competitive Industries and Innovation Programme
Coton ACP
ACP EU Culture / ACP UE Culture
ACP-EU Commodities Programme
ACP-EU Development Minerals Programme
ACP-EU Energy Facility
ACP-EU Fish II Programme
Global Climate Change Alliance (GCCA Intra-ACP)
Hub & Spokes - Enhancing Trade Capacity in ACP
Initiative Francophone Por La Formation A Distance Des Maitres (IFADEM)
Intra-ACP Agricultural Policy Programme (APP)
Intra-ACP Academic Mobility Scheme
ACP Multilateral Environmental Agreements
ACP-EU Microfinance Programme
ACP-EU Migration Action
Minising the Illegal Killing of Elephants (MIKES)
ACP Mining Database
ACP MEAs (Multilateral Environmental Agreements)
ACP Multilateral Trading System Programme
ACP-EU Natural Disaster Risk Reduction Programme
ACP Observatory on Migration
Participatory Slum Upgrading Programme
Renewed Partnership: Strengthening pharmaceutical systems and improving access to quality medicines
ACP-EU Science and Technology
Strengthening Fishery Products
ACP-EU Technical Barriers to Trade Programme
ACP-EU Water Facility
Centre Technique de Coopération Agricole et Rurale (CTA)
Sustainable Wildlife Management (SWM) Programme  / Programme de gestion durable de la faune sauvage (SWM) 


Papua New Guinea takes over presidency of the ACP Group

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Brussels 26 July 2019/ACP: The Ambassador of the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, H.E. Mr. Joshua Kalinoe will preside over the Committee of Ambassadors (CoA) of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States in Brussels for the period 1 August 2019 – 31 January 2020.
The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Papua New Guinea Hon. Soroi Eoe will assume the presidency of the ACP Council of Ministers.  
In a handover ceremony on 26 July 2019, Ambassador Kalinoe noted that this was a crucial moment when several important events and major documents of relevance to the group are under preparation. He outlined these to be the areas he intends to address, namely  the negotiation of a new partnership agreement with the European Union; the finalization of the review of the Georgetown Agreement; the renewal of the ACP Secretariat’s Senior Management and the preparation of the 9th ACP Summit of  Heads of States and Government that will take place in December in Nairobi, Kenya. In addition, he stated that his tenure would also focus on partnership diversification that reinforces South-South and Triangular Cooperation (SSTC) and enhancing Intra-ACP Trade. 
In addition to the Chair, the incoming Bureau is comprised of the Ambassadors of Rwanda, H.E. Mr. Amandin Rugira (East Africa); Republic of Guinea, H.E. Dr. Ousmane Sylla (West Africa); Republic of Congo, H.E. Mr. Léon Raphaël Mokoko (Central Africa); Republic of Botswana, H.E. Samuel Otsile Outlule (Southern Africa); The Bahamas, H.E. Ms. Maria O’Brien (Caribbean) and Vanuatu, H.E. Mr. John Licht (Pacific).
Members of the outgoing Bureau are Ambassadors of Namibia - H.E. Dr. Kaire M. Mbuende (Chair); Suriname, H.E. Ms. Sieglien Burleson (Caribbean); The Gambia (West Africa), H.E. Mrs. Jaiteh Teneng Mba; The Republic of Congo, H.E. Mr. Léon Raphael Mokoko (Central Africa); Mauritius, H.E. Mr. Haymandoyal Dillum (East Africa); Tuvalu, H.E. Mr. Aunese Makoi Simati (Pacific) and Botswana, H.E. Mr.Samuel Otsile Outlule (Southern Africa).
Summarizing his term at the helm of the CoA, the outgoing Chair, Ambassador Kaire Mbuende of Namibia thanked his colleague Bureau members for their useful contributions to the work of the ACP Group. He expressed satisfaction with the work they had accomplished and acknowledged the support of the Secretariat throughout their successful tenure.
Secretary General of the ACP Group, H.E. Dr. Patrick Gomes thanked the outgoing Bureau for steering the Group over the previous six months from 1 February to 31 July 2019. He welcomed the new Bureau and pledged the continued assistance of the Secretariat.
The CoA is an important decision-making body of the ACP Group of States. It is comprised of one representative from each of the Group’s 79 member countries. It meets at least one a month in Brussels to monitor the implementation of the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, and carry out any mandate tasked to it by the ACP Council of Ministers. Much of its work is carried out through six technical sub-committees (on Political, Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Affairs; Trade and Commodities; Investment and the Private Sector; Sustainable Development; Financing and Development; and Establishment and Finance), as well as ad-hoc working groups and task forces.  

Rue de l'Aqueduc 118
Ixelles - 1050, Bruxelles - Brussels
Belgique - Belgium
email :
Tel: +32 2 743 06 00
Fax: +32 2 735 55 73
see map/voir plan



« November 2020 »
ACP Public Documents
User login

The ACP Group is a registered trademark. The ACP logo and material on this site are protected by copyright laws and international treaty provisions. Unauthorised use of the ACP logo or copyright material without written permission is punishable by law.